AAMITO STACIE FOR ELLE MAGAZINE SA’S JULY 14 ISSUE

Africa’s Next Top Model Cycle 1 Winner- Aamito Stacie, looks stunning in the Elle Magazine SA July 2014 Issue. Photographed by Lee Moami, the black beauty strikes effortless poses in this dark and sultry beauty shoot.

In her interview with Elle SA, she talked about her ride to the ANTM audition and gives advice to other young models.  It still feels like yesterday when she won the ANTM Cycle 1 edition. I watched as she progressed and worked hard during every episode. Her gradual rise as she graced international runways and editorials definitely shows that hard work and determination pays off.

Check out the editorial below:

 

AfricasNextTopModel-Aamito-ElleSouthAfrica-July2014

AfricasNextTopModel-Aamito-ElleSouthAfrica-July2014-2

AfricasNextTopModel-Aamito-ElleSouthAfrica-July2014-3

 

We also came across this interview Elle Magazine SA had with the 21 year old model. Check it out below:

What was your childhood dream?

My childhood dream was to be a lawyer, simply because in Uganda traditional professions such as being a doctor, teacher or lawyer are supported and encouraged by most parents and relatives. My grandfather wanted me to become a lawyer so I thought that was the right path to follow.

How did you begin modelling?

When I was sixteen somebody scouted me while on vacation in Uganda. I thought I’d give it a try and so I joined a modelling agency there.

First modelling job?

It was the launch of Uganda Fashion Week and I walked on the runway, it was very exciting yet super stressful an intimidating.

How did ANTM happen?

Funny enough, I was about to give up modelling because it wasn’t sustainable enough nor seen positively by my family. I heard about the ANTM auditions in Nairobi through Facebook. I really didn’t make up my mind until two days before the audition because of the distance and the cost that I would have had to incur to travel all the way there. I didn’t have money but my mum believed in me and agreed to give me some to cover the bus fare. I travelled on a bus for 16 hours to get to Nairobi, waited with thousands of girls from all over Africa to do the audition and left straight away because I couldn’t afford to sleep a night in the city. I only got the news that I had passed the auditions once back in my home country.

Most memorable moment from ANTM?

Being announced as the winner of the first ever edition of Africa’s Next Top Model was a true highlight.

Who’s your role model in the fashion industry?

I look up to and owe a lot to Oluchi Onweagba. I feel very honoured to have her as my mentor, we speak every week and she gives me precious advice. She means the world to me.

Do you feel like a role model?

Yes I do. I get a lot of messages from people telling me how proud they are of me and asking for advice on how to join the fashion industry. I am very flattered to hear that there’s a lot of girls out there who really look up at me.

How has your life changed since ANTM?

I got signed by DNA model agency in New York and Boss Models in Cape Town. Part of the competition prize was also $50 000 which has really helped my family back in Uganda. On a personal level, lots of people now stop me and call me by my name, I also get special treatment at the airport. These are just a few examples of how my life has changed after winning the competition.

Read More HERE

AfricasNextTopModel-Aamito-ElleSouthAfrica-July2014-33 AfricasNextTopModel-Aamito-ElleSouthAfrica-July2014-OpiidFashion

 

 

Are you inspired yet? What are your thoughts about this editorial?

We appreciate your comments!

